In the Indiana Supreme Court

In the Matter of an Appointment to the Indiana Commission on Court Appointed Attorneys

Supreme Court Case No. 24S-MS-00391



Order Appointing Member to the Indiana Commission on Court Appointed Attorneys

Indiana Code 33-40-5-2(b)(2) provides that the Chief Justice of Indiana appoints three members to the Indiana Commission on Court Appointed Attorneys (formerly the Indiana Public Defender Commission). The Honorable Steven P. Meyer, Tippecanoe Superior Court 2, has served in one of those appointments since 2016. He was reappointed on June 18, 2021, to a term ending on April 20, 2024, or until a successor was appointed. The Court sincerely thanks Judge Meyer for his many years of dedicated service and commitment to improving the field of public defense in Indiana.

James J. Abbs, Chief Public Defender of Noble County, is hereby appointed as successor to Judge Meyer on the Commission effective November 21, 2024. He will serve for a term ending on November 21, 2028, or until a successor is appointed.

Done at Indianapolis, Indiana, on 11/21/2024

Louis A. Ruch

Chief Justice of Indiana

All Justices concur.