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To: Principals, Deans, Attendance Officers 

From: Catherine Danyluk, State Attendance Officer 

Date: July 26, 2024 

Subject: Enrollment Restrictions and Denial of Enrollment 
 
Children cannot be denied enrollment for the following reasons: 
 

● Lack of a birth certificate. Each public school shall, and each private school may require 
a student who initially enrolls in the school to provide a certified copy of the student's 
birth certificate or other reliable proof of the student's date of birth. Indiana Code (IC) 20-
33-2-10(a)(2). If a birth certificate or other reliable proof of the date of birth is not 
provided within 30 days of enrollment, the school shall notify the Indiana State Police 
Clearinghouse for Information on Missing Children & Missing Endangered Adults.  

● Showing up late for the beginning of the semester. The compulsory school attendance 
law (IC 20-33-2-29) requires attendance and requires the school administrator to ensure 
that children of compulsory school attendance age are enrolled.  

● Not having rental receipts, a mortgage document, driver’s license, Social Security 
card, lease agreement, or other forms of official identification. State law does not 
require any document with an address as a prerequisite to enrollment. Asking for any 
document to assist in determining legal settlement or the right to attend school based on 
the location of the residence is appropriate. However, if the parent does not have 
documents or proof of residence, a child cannot be denied attendance for that reason alone. 
Attendance officers, or school officials, have the authority to investigate the residence of 
parents to ensure compliance with state law. Children may not be removed or expelled 
from school without due process of law. A student may be expelled from school if the 
student's legal settlement is not in the attendance area of the school corporation where the 
student is enrolled. Refer to IC 20-33-8-17 and IC 20-33-8-19 for the law on expulsions. 

● Not having an Individualized Education Program (IEP). The student must be enrolled 
immediately and provided special education services (511 Indiana Administrative Code 
[IAC] 7-42-8 (e) & (f)). Schools must convene a case conference committee within 10 
days to review and revise the student’s IEP (511 IAC 7-42-5 (a) (4)). Students with an IEP 
must be enrolled immediately and provided services comparable to those described in the 
student’s IEP from the previous school until the school either adopts the student’s IEP or 
develops and implements a new IEP. 

 ● Not being a citizen of the country or the state. A child must be in school in Indiana if 
the child intends to remain in the state for at least 30 days per IC 20-33-2-3(2)(B) and 511 
IAC 1-7-1. Enrollment must be immediate when intent to remain for 30 days is 
determined, without regard to legal domicile per IC 20-33-2-3.
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● Being an undocumented alien. Children of undocumented aliens must be allowed to 

attend public school. (Plyler v. Doe, 457 US 202 (1982)).  

● Not having a stable residence. Homeless children must be accommodated and may not 
be removed from school for legal settlement reasons alone (42 United States Code 
[USC] Chapter 119, Subchapter VI, Part B). Contact MckinneyVentoPoc@doe.in.gov 
with any questions related to homeless children. 

● Moving. If a parent moves out of the district during the school year, the child may 
remain in the school at the parent’s discretion until at least the end of the semester per 
IC 20-26-11-2(8). 

● Lack of immunizations. Children must be enrolled in school whether or not they have 
required immunizations. If they do not have the required immunizations and the school 
refuses to grant a statutorily allowed 20-day waiver, the child may not be permitted to 
attend beyond the first day of school per IC 20-34-4-5(c)(1) & (2). 

● Not speaking English. Non-English speaking children must be allowed to attend public 
school. (Lau v. Nichols, 414 US 563 (1974)). 

● Living with a kinship caregiver. If a student resides with a relative or kinship caregiver 
without state agency placement, the student has the right to attend school in the school 
district in which they reside. A third-party custodial agreement can be completed by the 
caregiver and may be accepted if parental signature is unable to be secured due to 
unavoidable circumstances (IC 20-26-33-3). 

● Fifth year seniors. All Indiana students have the right to obtain their high school 
diploma (Constitution of the State of Indiana, Article 8, Section 1). Students remain in 
the cohort of the school where the student was expected to have graduated in four years 
for accountability purposes. For example, if a student was in School A’s cohort at the 
time of the student’s expected graduation date and did not graduate but subsequently 
enrolled at School B to graduate in a fifth year, the student would remain in School A’s 
cohort. 

Please contact Catherine Danyluk, state attendance officer at cdanyluk@doe.in.gov or  
317-232-9150 with any questions or for additional clarification. 
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