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The Motor Carrier Services Commercial Motor Vehicle Guidebook is prepared based on Indiana’s laws and 
regulations. However, because the Indiana General Assembly meets annually, the information contained in this 
booklet is subject to change. This booklet is provided as a guide and not intended to provide strict interpretations 
of Indiana law. Although every effort has been made to ensure that the enclosed information is accurate and 
complete, please visit the Motor Carrier Services Division of the Indiana Department of Revenue’s website at 
www.in.gov/dor/3408.htm for more information.

http://www.in.gov/dor/3408.htm
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Introduction

Commercial motor vehicles travel more than 9.5 billion miles in Indiana each year. The movement of these 
vehicles impacts the safety conditions and traffic patterns of Indiana’s roads, as well as the physical demands 
placed on them. These roads play a large role in Indiana’s economic success.

The Motor Carrier Services Division (MCS) of the Indiana Department of Revenue (DOR) seeks to provide 
guidance and service to motor carrier companies, commercial drivers, and residents of Indiana through the fair 
administration of state and federal laws that govern the commercial use of Indiana’s roads.

MCS oversees many areas that affect the commercial transportation industry. This guidebook provides a 
summary of the various services MCS provides. The guidebook also contains contact information for other state 
agencies and federal offices that may be useful for commercial vehicle operators and owners.



INTERSTATE INTRASTATE

Yes.
See page 9

Yes.
See page 15

Yes.
See page 21

Yes.
See page 8

No.
See page 15

Yes.
See page 21

Yes.
See page 6

Yes.
See page 6

Yes.
See page 23

Yes.
See page 18

Yes.
See page 18

No.
See page 23

 Commercial Motor Vehicle Guidebook5

Indiana Trucking Requirements — Overview
Fuel Tax:
A vehicle that has two axles with a gross 
vehicle weight or registered weight in 
excess of 26,000 lbs. and:

•	 Has three axles or more
•	 Is traveling in combination with a 

combined gross vehicle weight or 
combined registered weight in excess of 
26,000 lbs.

A commercial passenger vehicle that seats 
more than nine passengers, in addition to 
the driver and is: 

•	 A road tractor
•	 A tractor truck

International Registration Plan 	  
(Plates, Registration, and Titles):

A truck with three or more axles or when 
the combination gross weight is more than 
26,000 lbs.

Vehicle Marking:
•	 Over 10,001 lbs. or GVWR/CGVWR;
•	 A passenger vehicle that seats nine or 

more, including the driver; or
•	 A carrier requiring hazardous materials 

placards.

USDOT, UCR, Safety and Insurance:
If the vehicle is:

•	 For hire, or 
•	 Private, transporting hazardous material

Intrastate Operating Authority:
•	 Transporting passengers for hire, or
•	 Transporting household goods for hire

Oversized/Overweight Permits:
•	 Over 80,000 lbs. gross weight, or
•	 Over 20,000 lbs. on a single axle, or
•	 Over 34,000 lbs. on a tandem axle, or
•	 Over 8 feet, 6 inches wide, or
•	 Over 13 feet, 6 inches high, or
•	 Over 40 feet long for a single vehicle, or
•	 Over 60 feet long for a two-vehicle 

combination, excluding semi tractor 
trailer.
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Insurance Requirements

What are the insurance requirements?
For-hire carrier transporting nonhazardous property in a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,001 lbs. 
or more – $750,000.

Private and/or for-hire carrier transporting hazardous material – $1,000,000 to $5,000,000.

For-hire carrier transporting passengers in a vehicle with a seating capacity of 15 or fewer – $1,500,000.

For-hire carrier transporting passengers in a vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 or more – $5,000,000.

For-hire carrier transporting nonhazardous property in a vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or less – $300,000.

What type of insurance form do I file for a USDOT or Indiana identification number?
If you are an intrastate for-hire carrier and/or a private hazardous materials carrier, you must file a Form E, Indiana 
insurance filing. Your insurance company can provide you with a Form E. If you have active FHWA/MC authority, you 
do not have to submit the Form E filing. 

Foreign carriers (Canadian and Mexican) must carry a copy of the MCS90/MCS82 in the vehicle when traveling 
throughout the United States as proof of financial responsibility.

For more information about insurance requirements or filings, call (317) 615-7350.

Safety Requirements

What safety requirements will I encounter as a professional truck driver?
Indiana has adopted the following Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations as Indiana law.
A commercial motor vehicle (CMV) is any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle used on a highway in interstate and/or 
intrastate commerce to transport passengers or property when the vehicle:

•	 Has a GVWR, gross combination weight rating, gross vehicle weight, or gross combination weight of 4,536 kg 
(10,001 lbs.) or more, whichever is greater; or

•	 Is designed or used to transport more than 8 passengers (including the driver) for compensation or unless the 
vehicle otherwise meets the definition of CMV (10,001 GVWR); or

•	 Is designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers (including the driver) and is not used to transport 
passengers for compensation; or

•	 Is used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous and transported in a 
quantity that requires a placard.

To view a complete list of safety regulations, you can visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website at 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title 49/b/5/3.

The following list provides a reference for finding the citations in the legal code.

Transportation of Hazardous Materials Requirements:
•	 49CFR Part 107, Hazardous Materials Program Procedures
•	 49CFR Part 171, General Information and Definitions
•	 49CFR Part 172, Hazardous Materials Tables
•	 49CFR Part 173, Shippers General for Shipments
•	 49CFR Part 177, Carrier by Public Highway
•	 49CFR Part 178, Specifications for Packaging
•	 49CFR Part 180, Continuing Qualification & Maintenance of Packaging

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title 49/b/5/3
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Safety Requirements:
•	 49CFR Part 382, Controlled Substances, Alcohol Use and Testing
•	 49CFR Part 383, Commercial Driver’s License Standards; Requirements and Penalties
•	 49CFR Part 385, Safety Fitness Procedures
•	 49CFR Part 386, Rules of Practice for Motor Carrier, Intermodal Equipment Provider, Broker, Freight Forwarder, 

and Hazardous Materials Proceedings
•	 49CFR Part 387, Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor Carriers
•	 49CFR Part 390, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; General
•	 49CFR Part 391, Qualifications of Drivers and Longer Combination Vehicles (LCV) Driver Instructors
•	 49CFR Part 392, Driving of Motor Vehicles
•	 49CFR Part 393, Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation
•	 49CFR Part 395, Hours of Service of Drivers
•	 49CFR Part 396, Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance
•	 49CFR Part 397, Transportation of Hazardous Material; Driving and Parking Rules
•	 49CFR Part 398, Transportation of Migrant Workers

These regulations apply to CMV trucks and combination vehicles with a manufacturer’s GVWR or a combined gross 
vehicle weight rating (GVWR-CGVWR) of 10,001 lbs. (4,536 kg) or more; to vehicles hauling hazardous materials in a 
quantity that requires placards; and to vehicles designed to transport more than eight passengers (including the driver).

Effective March 2010, Indiana exempts: intrastate, not-for-hire, non-CDL required vehicles from the FMCSRs entirely. 
8-2.1-24-3(6)

Equipment Requirements

Am I required to carry any special equipment?
Yes, every bus, truck, truck tractor, and vehicle driven in a tow-away operation greater than 10,000 lbs. GVWRCGVWR 
must be equipped with:

•	 A fire extinguisher
•	 Spare fuses
•	 Warning devices for stopped vehicles or three bidirectional emergency reflected triangles

What equipment must be spot-checked before each trip?
•	 Service brakes, including trailer-brake connections
•	 Parking brake
•	 Steering mechanism
•	 Lighting devices and reflectors
•	 Tires
•	 Horn
•	 Windshield wipers
•	 Rear-vision mirror(s)
•	 Coupling devices
•	 Wheels and rims
•	 Emergency equipment

Inspections and Out-of-Service Orders

Is the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) decal now being used when inspections are performed?
Yes, Indiana issues Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance decals to carriers after they have successfully completed a Level 
One North American Standard Inspection and are found to have no critical item violations.

What criteria would an officer use to determine whether a truck displaying a valid decal should be reinspected?
Any truck, displaying a valid decal or not, should be reinspected if an obvious violation is observed. A CVSA decal does 
not exempt a motor carrier from any inspection when approached by an officer.
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Are there differences between the FMCSA and CVSA out-of-service criteria?
Yes. FMCSA puts the company out of service, and CVSA puts the driver and/or vehicle out of service.

The CVSA and the FMCSA work together to establish the out-of-service criteria that are used by inspectors throughout all 
states and regions.

Are out-of-service decisions made only according to these standards, or can a truck be placed out of service for other 
reasons?
Out-of-service decisions are made according to the standards set forth by the CVSA. Copies of the CVSA out-of-service 
criteria may be obtained for a fee by contacting the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance.

Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
6303 Ivy Lane, Suite 310
Greenbelt, MD 20770-6319
(301) 830-6143
(301) 830-6144 (fax)
CVSAhq@cvsa.org

Questions about Regulations

Whom do I contact with other safety questions?
If you have any questions concerning size and weight, oversize load escorts, hazardous material, compliance reviews, or 
other matters related to the enforcement of commercial vehicle rules and regulations, visit the Indiana State Police website 
at www.in.gov/isp or call (317) 615-7373, option 0.

How can I get a copy of the Motor Carrier Safety Regulations?
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations are available at most large truck stops or through any printing agency that 
specializes in printing federal regulations.

J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc.
3003 W. Breezewood Lane
P.O. Box 368
Neenah, WI 54957-0368
(877) 564-2333
www.jjkeller.com

Label Master
5724 N. Pulaski Road
Chicago, IL 60646-6797
(800) 621-5808
www.labelmaster.com

Fuel and Road-Use Taxes
Generally, all carriers traveling in or through Indiana in commercial motor vehicles must file and pay fuel and road-use 
taxes. All vehicles should be properly registered and have annual compliance decals displayed. The method of registration 
will vary based on whether the carrier is an interstate (travels in more than one state) or intrastate (travels only in Indiana) 
motor carrier.

Motor Carrier Fuel Tax (INTRA)
The following commercial vehicles that travel only in Indiana, have an Indiana base plate issued by the Indiana Bureau 
of Motor Vehicles, and are considered qualified vehicles, are subject to the Indiana Motor Carrier Fuel Tax and Intrastate 
Licensing Requirements:

•	 A vehicle that has two axles with a gross vehicle weight or registered weight in excess of 26,000 lbs.

mailto:CVSAhq%40cvsa.org?subject=
http://www.in.gov/isp
http://www.jjkeller.com
http://www.labelmaster.com
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•	 A vehicle that has three axles or more, regardless of weight.
•	 A vehicle traveling in combination (power unit and trailing unit) with a combined gross vehicle weight or 

combined registered weight in excess of 26,000 lbs.
•	 A road tractor that has two axles with a gross vehicle weight or registered weight less than 26,000 lbs. that travels 

only in Indiana.
•	 A tractor truck that has two axles with a gross vehicle weight or registered weight less than 26,000 lbs. that travels 

only in Indiana.

International Fuel Tax Agreement
The following commercial vehicles that travel regularly outside the state of Indiana in two or more jurisdictions and have 
an Indiana IRP-apportioned plate, transporter plates, bus plates, or farm plates are considered qualified vehicles subject to 
the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) filing and licensing requirements:

•	 A vehicle that has two axles with a gross vehicle weight or registered weight in excess of 26,000 lbs. 
•	 A vehicle that has three axles or more, regardless of weight; or
•	 A vehicle traveling in combination (power unit and trailing unit) with a combined gross vehicle weight or 

combined registered weight in excess of 26,000 lbs.
•	 A road tractor that has two axles with a gross vehicle weight or registered weight less than 26,000 lbs. that travels 

in Indiana or other jurisdictions.

Carriers with both INTRASTATE and IFTA subject vehicles
If your fleet consists of qualified vehicles that have IRP-apportioned plates and travel outside of Indiana, as well as 
qualified vehicles that have Indiana base plates and travel only inside the state of Indiana, you will need to have an IFTA 
license for licensing and filing requirements for the entire fleet.

Exempt Vehicles
A number of vehicles are exempt from the Indiana Motor Carrier Fuel Tax and are not required to display fuel tax 
compliance decals and license cards if they travel only in Indiana.

However, the following vehicles may be subject to other jurisdictions’ motor carrier fuel taxes and are commonly required 
to display fuel-tax compliance decals and IFTA license cards should they leave the state of Indiana:

•	 Vehicles operated by the State of Indiana or a political subdivision thereof
•	 Vehicles operated by the United States or by an agency of states in which Indiana participates
•	 School buses operated by, for or on behalf of a state, a political subdivision of a state or a private or privately 

operated school
•	 Vehicles used in casual or charter bus operations
•	 Vehicles registered by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles as farm trucks, farm trailers or farm semi trailers and 

tractors, or under a similar law of another state
•	 Intercity buses
•	 Vehicles displaying a dealer registration plate
•	 Recreational vehicles

Generally, motor carriers may not hold both an Indiana intrastate fuel-tax license and an IFTA license. Additional 
jurisdiction exemptions can be found at www.iftach.org or by contacting the jurisdictions directly.

How do I determine if Indiana is my base jurisdiction for IFTA purposes?
Indiana is the base jurisdiction if qualified motor vehicles are based in Indiana for registration purposes and:

•	 Operational control and operational records of the motor carrier’s qualified motor vehicles are maintained or can 
be made available in Indiana; and

•	 Some mileage is accrued by qualified motor vehicles in Indiana.

http://www.iftach.org
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Application and Registration for Fuel Tax

How do I open a new fuel tax account?
Contact the Motor Carrier Services Division of the Indiana Department of Revenue in person, by mail, or by telephone at 
(317) 615-7345 to obtain Form MCFT-1, Application for Intrastate Motor Carrier Fuel Tax Annual permit, or Form IFTA-
1, International Fuel Tax Agreement License Application. These forms are also available on the Motor Carrier Services 
Division website at www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm.

What information do I need to complete an IFTA-1 or MCFT-1 application?
•	 Federal employer identification number or Social Security number of sole owner
•	 Indiana tax identification number (if one has already been assigned)
•	 Proof of business domicile in the State of Indiana
•	 A valid IRP account number; proof of IRP registration lease; or proof of farm, bus, or transporter plate 

registration for IFTA-1
•	 A valid USDOT number or an interstate authority lease for IFTA-1
•	 A valid Indiana DOT number for MCFT-1

After the application and registration fee have been processed, you will receive your license/cab card and compliance 
decals.

How many fuel tax/license cab cards and compliance decals are required per carrier?
Each carrier receives one fuel tax license card. You are required to make a copy of the license card for each vehicle. Keep 
the original with your company records.

Each intrastate carrier (travels only within Indiana) receives one decal for each vehicle operated by the carrier. This decal 
must be placed on the driver’s side of each power unit, and the intrastate Motor Carrier fuel-tax annual permit/license 
card must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Each interstate (IFTA) carrier receives a set of two decals for each vehicle. These decals must be placed on the exterior 
portion of both sides of the power units. The IFTA cab card must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

If a vehicle is leased and operated by more than one carrier, in addition to displaying the compliance decal and fuel tax 
license card, a reproduced copy of the operating carrier’s lease must be displayed in the vehicle. The operating carrier is 
the carrier who is responsible for reporting and remitting the Motor Carrier fuel tax and surcharge tax as outlined in the 
lease.

When do the annual license card and compliance decal expire?
The license card and compliance decal expire on December 31 of each year.

How do I renew my account?
The Indiana Department of Revenue sends a reminder to motor carrier accounts by September 1 of each year. Renewal 
applications should be submitted online no later than November 1 each year to ensure credentials are mailed out 
November 15. 

IFTA and Intrastate Motor Fuel Tax accounts that are revoked, are missing quarterly returns, are not in compliance with 
Indiana Motor Carrier Services requirements, or have listed tax liabilities with the State of Indiana will not be renewed 
until they are in a satisfactory status.

Where can I renew my annual license?
A carrier can renew with the Motor Carrier Services Division of the Indiana Department of Revenue in person, or on the 
MCS website (https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome). 

http://www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm
https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
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Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
Motor Carrier Fuel Tax/IFTA
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
Indianapolis, IN 46241

Account Changes

Can my license be revoked and/or my renewal be denied?
Licenses can be revoked or denied if you:

•	 Have not filed the required quarterly reports.
•	 Have not paid the correct amount of tax due on these reports.
•	 Have failed to file all tax returns or information reports or to pay all taxes, penalties and interest required by the 

Indiana Department of Revenue.
•	 If you’re quarterly returns did not show activity in Indiana, for three consecutive quarters.

If I receive a new federal employer identification number (FEIN) or Social Security number (SSN), do I need to obtain 
a new annual license?
Yes, anytime the legal ownership changes, a new entity is created, or a division is made a subsidiary, a new annual license 
must be obtained.

If the FEIN or SSN change is only for correction purposes, the original annual permit can be retained by the carrier.

Are the fuel tax license card and compliance decals transferable?
No.

What if the vehicle is sold or traded?
Compliance decals are assigned to the carrier, not the truck. If the vehicle is sold or traded, the decal cannot be assigned 
to the new carrier and must be removed from the vehicle. A new decal must be obtained under the authority of the new 
owner’s Motor Carrier fuel tax annual license.

What if I wreck my truck or have it repainted?
A carrier can get a new compliance decal for a vehicle if the original decal has been lost or destroyed.

Contact the Motor Carrier Services Division in person, by phone, or online at https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/
mcsdHome for additional/replacement decals:

Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
Motor Carrier Fuel Tax\IFTA
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
(317) 615-7345

What if I misplace one of my annual license cards?
Upon request, the Motor Carrier Services Division will issue a duplicate annual license card to the carrier if the original 
is lost. Contact the Motor Carrier Services Division in person, by phone, or online at https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/
mcsdHome for a replacement license card. 

Is a carrier who operates a commercial motor vehicle displaying a dealer registration plate, or transport plate, 
required to obtain an annual permit/license card and compliance decal for that vehicle?
A carrier displaying a dealer registration plate is exempt from obtaining a Motor Carrier fuel tax license and compliance 
decals.

https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
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Carriers who display a transport plate are required to obtain an intrastate Motor Carrier fuel tax annual permit/license 
card or IFTA license card and respective compliance decals.

How do I close my fuel tax account with Motor Carrier Services?
To close your fuel tax account, it must be current with Motor Carrier Services. After filing all returns and making any 
payments, you must make your request to close your account in writing. You must also return your annual license cards 
and compliance decals to the Motor Carrier Services Division.

Quarterly Tax Reports

Which reports are required to be filed by motor carriers?
A quarterly report (IFTA-101 or MCFT-101) must be filed by all carriers who hold an Indiana or IFTA motor carrier fuel 
tax annual license. This return is required regardless of activity.

When must the quarterly reports be filed?
Quarterly reports must be postmarked no later than the last day of the month that immediately follows the end of the 
quarter.

Quarter tax period report due dates

Quarter	 Date of Quarter	 Deadline
1st Quarter	 Jan. 1 — March 31	 April 30
2nd Quarter	 April 1 — June 30	 July 31
3rd Quarter	 July 1 — Sept. 30	 Oct. 31
4th Quarter	 Oct. 1 — Dec. 31	 Jan. 31

How do I file my quarterly reports?
All filings are now required to be made online. Quarterly reports can be found and filed at https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/
mcsd/mcsdHome.

What type of information do I need to complete a quarterly report?
The following information is required to complete the quarterly tax returns. You will need information regarding:

•	 Miles traveled in Indiana;
•	 Miles traveled in other states (if IFTA);
•	 Miles traveled while using a trip permit;
•	 Gallons of motor fuel purchased and consumed (placed in the fuel tank of a qualified vehicle) by jurisdiction by 

fuel type; and
•	 The number of qualified motor vehicles operated, by fuel type.

How do I correct any errors after I have filed my original quarterly report?
You can make corrections by filing an amended quarterly report online at https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/
mcsdHome. 

Are there any penalties for not filing quarterly reports or for filing late?
Yes. The following penalties may be imposed:

•	 A $50 penalty or 10 percent, whichever is greater, is due on any late remittance;
•	 A $50 penalty is due for any late report when no remittance is due;
•	 The license tax annual permit may be revoked or renewal denied; and
•	 A carrier that fails to file a quarterly report is subject to a civil penalty of $300 for each report that is not filed.

Record keeping requirements
All license holders must keep all the records necessary for the administration of the fuel and use taxes, including:

•	 Miles traveled in Indiana;
•	 Miles traveled in other states;

https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
https://motorcarrierirp.in.gov/mcsd/mcsdHome
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•	 Gallons of motor fuel consumed;
•	 Gallons of motor fuel purchased;
•	 Tax paid; and
•	 The number of qualified motor vehicles operated, by fuel type.

To verify the amount of tax-paid fuel purchased in bulk, or purchased from service stations, the taxpayer must keep the 
original invoices.

Service station purchase records must include:
•	 The date of the purchase;
•	 The name and address of the seller (may be added by credit card imprint);
•	 The name of the purchaser;
•	 The number of gallons purchased;
•	 The type of product purchased;
•	 The price per gallon; and
•	 The unit number of the vehicle for which the fuel was purchased.

Records of tax paid on fuel withdrawn from bulk storage tanks must include:
•	 The date of withdrawal;
•	 The number of gallons withdrawn;
•	 The type of fuel withdrawn;
•	 The unit number of the vehicle for which the fuel was purchased; and
•	 The purchase and inventory records.

Lease Agreements

Who is responsible for filing quarterly reports and paying the Motor Carrier fuel tax when a vehicle is leased?
Every qualified motor vehicle leased to a carrier is subject to the same fuel tax requirements as any qualified motor vehicle 
owned by a carrier.

The most common questions surround the issue of who is liable for the tax reporting.

Generally, the registered owner of a vehicle is the required fuel tax license holder. The owner has the option to contract 
with the driver (or carrier) who is leasing the vehicle to have him pay the fuel taxes; however, both the license holder and 
the driver (or carrier) are held jointly liable for unpaid taxes.

There are a few exceptions with specific short-term leases.

Rental and leasing – short-term leases
In the case of an owner regularly engaged in the business of leasing or renting motor vehicles, without drivers, to others 
for 29 days or less, the owner must report and pay the fuel use tax unless:

•	 The owner has a written rental contract that designates the driver (or carrier) leasing the vehicle as the party 
responsible for reporting and paying the fuel use tax; and

•	 The owner has a copy of the driver’s (or carrier’s) valid IFTA fuel tax license.

Household goods carriers
In the case of household goods carriers using independent contractors, agents, or service representatives under 
intermittent leases, the party responsible for motor fuel use tax is:

•	 The driver (or carrier), if the qualified motor vehicle is being operated under the driver’s (or carrier’s) 
jurisdictional operating authority; or

•	 The owner, if the qualified motor vehicle is being operated under the owner’s jurisdictional operating authority.

Independent contractors – short-term leases
In the case of a carrier using independent contractors under short-term leases of 29 days or less, the owner reports and 
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pays all fuel use taxes.

Independent contractors – long-term leases
In the case of a carrier using independent contractors under long-term leases of 30 days or more, the owner and driver 
(carrier) are given the option of designating which of them will report and pay the motor fuel use tax. If there is no 
written agreement or contract, or if the written document is silent regarding responsibility for reporting and paying fuel-
use tax, the driver (or carrier) is responsible for reporting and paying fuel use tax.

Please visit www.in.gov/dor/4226.htm for a complete list of IFTA responsibilities and exceptions.

5-Day Trip Permits

What is a 5-day trip permit?
Instead of obtaining an annual license and paying the quarterly tax imposed, you may be issued a 5-day trip permit from 
a permit service. The 5-day trip permit authorizes the carrier to operate a commercial motor carrier in or through Indiana 
for a period of five consecutive days.

Note: 5-day trip permits are issued only by permit services, with a fee of $50 plus any permit service charges.

Proportional Use Credit

Can a carrier take credit on its IFTA-101 or MCFT-101 quarterly tax return for taxable fuel used to power its power 
take-off units?
No. A motor carrier who is seeking a proportional use credit (PUC) of taxes paid on motor fuel consumed in a power 
take-off unit (PTO) must first be certified by the Indiana Department of Revenue. After PUC certification, the carrier is 
eligible to file the MCS-1789 Claim for Proportional Use Credit. The credit can be claimed for all qualified motor vehicles 
that have a common fuel reservoir used to both propel the vehicle and power some other commercial-purposed PTO of 
the vehicle. The motor carrier must file Form Prop-1, Proportional Use Credit Certification Application. The application 
must be received by April 1 to be eligible to file claims for the credit during the first quarter of the same year. The carrier 
must also file Form MCS-1789, Claim for Proportional Use Credit, each quarter. Prop-1 and MCS-1789 are available from 
MCS in person, by mail, by telephone, or on the MCS website at www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm. 

Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
Motor Carrier Fuel Tax\IFTA
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
Indianapolis, IN 46241
(317) 615-7345

Alternative claim for refund
Certain vehicles may qualify for an alternative fuel refund (AFR). Any carrier that files a Motor Carrier Fuel Tax return 
and has any vehicle(s) utilizing compressed natural gas to propel their vehicles may receive a 12% refund. The credit 
applies only to gallons consumed in Indiana. You must maintain adequate records to support the credit, and you must file 
a claim for refund (MCS-AF101). 

Caution: This claim and any resulting refund cannot be claimed on the quarterly return. The MCS-AF101 must be filed at 
the same time as the quarterly return, however. The quarterly tax returns must be submitted with the proper payment and 
filed timely.

Filing your quarterly tax return late (per the due date shown on the tax return) or failure to submit quarterly tax 
returns (MCFT-101 or IFTA-101) with payment will result in denial of your claim for credit.

http://www.in.gov/dor/4226.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm
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International Registration Plan

What is IRP?
The International Registration Plan (IRP) is an agreement among the states of the United States and provinces of Canada 
that allows the proportional registration of fleets of vehicles. Its purpose is to issue one registration plate and cab card to 
each fleet vehicle, rather than one for each state and Canadian province in which the vehicle travels. The apportioned plate 
allows both interstate and intrastate operation.

A carrier registers in its base state or Canadian province, declares the mileage of the fleet’s operations everywhere the 
carrier travels, declares the registered weight in each state, and pays all registration fees on one bill with its base state. 

The base state is responsible for calculating, billing, and collecting fees for all IRP jurisdictions in which the carrier is 
operating. The base state also informs the other jurisdictions and distributes the collected fees.

IRP Plate Requirements

Where do I get IRP apportioned plates?
Indiana apportioned IRP plates are available through the Motor Carrier Services Division of the Indiana Department of 
Revenue. IRP plates cannot be purchased at the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. You can process, pay for, and print 
credentials without ever leaving your home or office. You can log in at www.in.gov/dor/ to get 24-hour service at your 
fingertips. Any new IRP application must be mailed or faxed to the address listed here:

Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
IRP Unit
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
Indianapolis, IN 46241
(317) 615-7340
Fax: (317) 615-7310 or (317) 615-7280

You can also visit the customer service center at the above address between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday 
through Friday, excluding holidays.

When should I have my new plates mounted?
New apportioned plates and cab cards must be displayed by 12 a.m. on the first day of the new registration period. 
An apportioned plate must be displayed on the fronts of tractors, truck-tractors, and dump trucks. They must also be 
displayed on the rears of trucks, trailers, and buses. The cab card must be carried in the vehicle for which it is issued.

What happens if I don’t have new plates on my vehicles?
Vehicles not displaying the current license plate, current cab card, valid trip permit, or temporary registration in lieu of 
credentials are in violation and the driver is subject to law enforcement action. Enforcement action includes, but is not 
limited to, violation citations, fines, and vehicle impoundment.

Registration Requirements

Which types of vehicles should I register under the IRP?
The following vehicles that travel in two or more IRP member jurisdictions are required to be registered and are 
considered “apportion-able vehicles”:

•	 Power units having three or more axles regardless of weight;
•	 Vehicles having a gross weight in excess of 26,000 lbs.; and
•	 Vehicles used in combination when the gross weight of the combination exceeds 26,000 lbs.

file:///C:/Users/awalton/Desktop/../AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/Temporary Internet Files/Content.Outlook/PC17CIOQ/www.in.gov/dor/
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Are any vehicles exempt from registering in IRP?
Yes. Exempt vehicles are:

•	 Chartered buses;
•	 Recreational vehicles;
•	 Vehicles displaying restricted plates (commodity, area, mileage restrictions), such as farm plates;
•	 City pick-up and delivery vehicles;
•	 Vehicles displaying special-machinery plates; and
•	 Government vehicles.

What information will slow down the processing of my request for plates?
Whether you are completing a renewal application or a new application, certain information and documents are required 
before we can issue your credentials. Be aware that the following information is required to help ensure problem-free 
processing: 

•	 Place of business—Your established place of business in Indiana must be verifiable.
•	 Proof of ownership (title)—A valid Indiana title or a title application is required.
•	 Lease agreement—A copy of the existing lease agreement (if applicable) is needed.
•	 Proof of financial responsibility—Valid insurance information.
•	 Federal heavy vehicle use tax (FHVUT)—Proof of payment of the current FHVUT (Form 2290) must be verified.
•	 US DOT number—All registrants must have a US DOT number.
•	 Valid IFTA license.
•	 Unified Carrier Registration—UCR registration must be verified.

Base Plate Registration (BPR)
The Indiana Department of Revenue’s Motor Carrier Services Division has assumed responsibility for base plate 
registrations from the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles for companies with 25 or more commercial vehicles weighing 
26,001 lbs. or more. For more information, visit www.in.gov/dor/5027.htm. 

3-Day Trip Permit

What if I travel through Indiana only occasionally?
In lieu of the permanent registration credentials, an Indiana IRP 3-day trip permit is required for all out-of-state carriers 
who are properly registered and insured in their base states, but who have not apportioned for Indiana and wish to drive 
in or through the state of Indiana. 

The permit must be secured prior to entry and must remain with the vehicle while in the state.

Refunds or credit cannot be given for unused permits.

The Indiana IRP 3-day trip permit is available through wire services or through the Indiana Department of Revenue. The 
permit is issued for a period of three days for a fee if issued from the Motor Carrier Services Division. Prices may vary 
if issued through a wire service. Certain requirements must be met prior to the issuance of a 3-day trip permit. Visit the 
MCS at www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm for the complete listing of fees.

Please consult the IRP Handbook on the MCS website at www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm for details.

Hunter’s Permit

What if I’m unemployed and driving to look for work?
A hunter’s permit is a limited permit issued to allow an owner/operator to move his or her vehicle at the unladen weight 
between lessors to “hunt” for employment. It is valid for both intrastate and interstate travel. The hunter’s permit is issued 
only to registrants who are both owner and operator of the vehicle.

http://www.in.gov/dor/5027.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm
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To obtain a hunter’s permit, you need:

•	 A copy of your previous registration (cab card);
•	 A copy of your title;
•	 Insurance information regarding the insured, the insurer’s name, and the policy number; and
•	 Payment in cash, a money order, or a credit card payment. Visit the MCS website for the current payment price at 

www.in.gov/dor/3408.htm. 

45-Day Temporary Permits

Who can apply for a 45-day permit?
A 45-day temporary IRP registration permit is issued solely to vehicles within established Indiana IRP fleets that are 
currently registered or are in the process of registering. It is not a means by which a vehicle can travel through Indiana or 
other jurisdictions without registering for the year! It is also not a means of delaying payment of fees.

The 45-day temporary permit allows you to place qualified vehicles into service immediately after your payment is 
processed (with the exception of added vehicles and replacement plates). Follow-up documentation must be submitted 
within 20 days.

After a temporary permit registration has been granted, the vehicle is subject to the full registration process and to the 
same laws and fees as a valid license plate for added vehicles and replacement plates.

Permits will not be issued to an account that is not in good standing (has an existing liability with the state).

No temporary permits will be issued to renewal vehicles or any previously registered vehicles until payment has been 
received.

Yard Tractor Permits

What if my vehicle is used to work onsite only?
Yard tractor permits are issued to nonapportioned tractors that are used to move semi-trailers from one point at a 
terminal site, loading site, or spotting facility to its place of origin. Any tractor operating with a yard tractor permit is 
ineligible to carry cargo, transport, or draw a semi-trailer. The fee for the permit is $40.00.

The registration year for yard tractors is July 1 through June 30 of each year.

Repair and Maintenance Permit

What if I need to come into your state to repair my vehicle?
The repair and maintenance permit authorizes the carrier to travel from another foreign state into Indiana for the 
repair or maintenance of vehicles or semi-trailers. The carrier must return directly to the same state where the vehicle(s) 
originated. Visit the MCS website for the current payment price at www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm. 

Photocopies of the Indiana IRP 45-day temporary registration permit are acceptable; however, any alteration of the 
permit renders the permit invalid and Commercial Motor Vehicle Enforcement will confiscate the permit and impound 
the vehicle. Permits altered by any carrier will result in full vehicle registration of 80,000 lb. fees. Criminal charges may 
also be brought against anyone guilty of a falsified permit punishable by law.

Oversize/Overweight Vehicle Permits
All vehicles operating over 80,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight/subject to axle weights; 13’6” in height; 8’6” in width; 40’ in 
length for a single vehicle; 60’ in length for two vehicles coupled together; and/or 53’ in length for a semitrailer unit on a 
truck-tractor-semi-trailer combination must obtain an oversize/overweight vehicle permit if the load is nondivisible.

http://www.in.gov/dor/3408.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm
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Types of Permits

What kinds of permits are available?
There are eight categories of permits. These permits are issued for different periods of time, based on a vehicle’s specific 
dimensions and/or size and the travel activity. The following chart is a quick summary of the various permits and when 
they are used.

List of Permits and Fees

Any questions you have regarding information in this handbook should be directed to:

Indiana Department of Revenue
Permit Unit 
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M 
Indianapolis, IN 46241-9612
(317) 615-7320

All permit applicants must file Form M-203, Transporting Company Agreement

Category Type Forms Single Trip Fee 90-Day Fee Annual

Oversize 
Permit

Single Trip M-233, Permit $20: up to 95’ in length, 12’4” wide 
and legal width

$100 $405
90-Day M-233, Permit $30: between 96’ and110’ in length, 

12’5” and 16’ wide or 13”7”and 15” 
tall

Annual M-233, Permit $40: over 110’ in length, 16’ wide, 15’ 
tall and 80,000 lbs.

Overweight 
Permit

Single Trip
(15 Days) M-233, Permit

$20 + $.35 per mile for vehicles up to 
108,000 lbs.

*$20 + $.60 per mile for vehicles over 
108,000 to 150,000 lbs.

**$20 + $1.00 per mile for vehicles 
over 150,000 lbs.

Oversize and 
Overweight 
Permit

Single Trip
(15 Days)

M-233, Permit Greater of the oversize or overweight 
fee calculated above

Special Weight

Multiple Trip
(1 Day)

Quarterly
Billing

M-233ST, Permit

M-211, Registration

M-219, Bond Form

$42.50

12’4” Mobile 
Home Rig 
Permit

Single Trip
(15 Days)
Annual

Quarterly Dealer’s

M-233, Permit

M-233DR, Permit

$10 $250 $1,000
$40 for dealers

14’4” Mobile 
Home Rig 
Permit

Single Trip
(5 Days)

Quarterly Annual
M-233, Permit $18 $500 $2,000

Toll Road Gate 
Permit Annual  M-233T, Permit $20 per gate, per 

truck

Overweight 
Commodity 
Permit

Single Trip
(7 Days)
Annual

M-233, Permit 0.07 per mile ESAL $20 per truck, per 
route

*Vehicle over 120,000 lbs. are charged a $10 executive fee.
** Vehicles over 200,000 lbs. are charged a $10 executive fee + $25 design and review fee + bridges fees.
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Within these types of permits, MCS also has routine permits and super load permits. A super load permit is any permit 
over:

•	 15 feet high
•	 16 feet wide
•	 1,110 feet long
•	 120,000 lbs.

Cost of Routine Permits
Please visit the MCS website at www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm for more information.

Setting Up an Account

How do I set up an account?
If this is your first time applying for an oversize or overweight permit, you must set up an account. You will need to 
complete the Transporting Company Permit Agreement Application and get a user ID and password for everyone in 
your company who will be ordering permits. To establish your account, user ID, and password online, visit the oversize/
overweight (OSW) section of the MCS website at www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm. 

To apply for a new account:
1.	 Visit www.in.gov/dor/4243.htm. 
2.	 Click the Vehicle Permit Order Information link under General Information - OSW.
3.	 In the Set Up an Account section for Online setup, click the link to go to Indiana Motor Carrier Applications.  
4.	 When the Indiana Motor Carrier Applications page opens, click the link to Apply for OSW Account under the 

Oversize/Overweight (OSW) heading.
5.	 Here you are prompted to enter the information for your company. When all your information is entered 

correctly, click the Next button.
6.	 The next page presents the legal conditions. After you have read the legal conditions, you must click I Agree to 

continue.
7.	 The next page presents a summary of the information you have entered. Please review it and, if all the information 

is correct, click Confirm. This will submit your application for our review.

After MCS has made a decision on your application, you will receive an email that your account has been approved 
or rejected. If your account is rejected, please supply any requested additional information or correct your application 
and resubmit it.

After your company agreement application has been approved, you will receive an email indicating that you can set up 
your user ID and password.

To establish your user ID and password:
1.	 Visit www.in.gov/dor/4243.htm. 
2.	 Click the Vehicle Permit Order Information link under General Information - OSW.
3.	 In the Set Up an Account section for Online setup, click the link to go to Indiana Motor Carrier Applications.
4.	 When the Indiana Motor Carrier Applications page opens, click the User Registration link under New/Returning 

User Information.
5.	 On the Online User Account Registration page, select OSW as the tax type you want to register. If you are a 

permit service, select that box as well.
6.	 Click Continue.
7.	 You will be prompted to enter your account information, including:

•	 Your account name as it is registered with Motor Carrier Services
•	 Your FEIN or SSN
•	 Your USDOT registration number

8.	 After you have entered the required information, click Submit.
9.	 On the next page, click Create New User Account. (If you currently have user IDs created for other Motor Carrier 

Services functions, you will be presented with those user IDs so you can add OSW functions to them. Click the 

http://www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4243.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4243.htm
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user ID you want to add OSW to; a screen showing the registration was a success displays.)
10.	 You will be prompted to enter your user information.
11.	 Click Continue and a screen showing the registration was a success displays.

After you have your user ID and password, you can apply for a permit.

You also can apply for a new OSW account through the mail or by visiting our office. If you have questions, please contact 
our office Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. We are happy to assist you.

Mail:
Indiana Department of Revenue
OSW Section
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
Indianapolis, IN 46241
(317) 615-7320
Email: IndianaOSW@dor.in.gov 
www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm 

Setting Up a Payment Method

Motor Carrier Services accepts many payment options for OSW permits. You can use:
•	 A credit card
•	 An e-check
•	 An escrow account

MCS will set up an escrow account for you. You can mail a letter with a check in the amount you would like added to your 
escrow account to:

Indiana Department of Revenue
OSW Section
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
Indianapolis, IN 46241

The balance of your escrow account will be displayed on your OSW homepage. If you include a threshold amount in the 
letter with your escrow check, MCS will send you an email when your account reaches that amount. These features allow 
you to manage your escrow account more effectively. 

To pay for permits electronically, click the Pay for Permits button on the left menu of your OSW homepage. This allows 
you to pay for permits using a credit card, an e-check, or your escrow account. After you have purchased your permits, 
you can print them immediately.

You also can mail a check to our office for payment of your permits. However, you will not receive your permit until our 
office has received your payment and processed it. Processing time for paper checks is 7-10 business days.

Ordering a Permit

After you have completed the registration process for your company, you are ready to request oversize/overweight permits. 
You can order permits through the online system at www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm, through a permit service, or by visiting 
our office.

Location:
Indiana Department of Revenue
Permit Section
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
Indianapolis, IN 46241

mailto:IndianaOSW@dor.in.gov
http://www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm
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(317) 615-7320
Fax: (317) 615-7241
www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm 

Violations to Permits
Violations of OSW permits or operating without a permit will result in the suspension of a carrier’s OSW account. 
To restore an OSW account, the carrier must send a letter to Motor Carrier Services. This letter must be on company 
letterhead and include the following:

•	 An explanation of the violation;
•	 The carrier’s company policy on the violation; and
•	 The company’s plan to ensure that no further violations occur.

The letter can be faxed or mailed to our office. After the letter is received and approved, the carrier’s OSW account will 
be restored. However, Indiana does assess civil penalties up to $5,000 for OSW permit violations or operating without an 
OSW permit.

A certified letter concerning the hearing will be sent to the carrier to determine the civil penalty amount.

Guidelines for Indiana US DOT Number and Marking Requirements

Who must have a US DOT number?
If you operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting property or passengers interstate and/or intrastate and have a 
GVWR or gross combined vehicle weight of 10,001 lbs. or more; you use the vehicle to transport more than 9 passengers 
(including the driver); or you use the vehicle to transport placardable amounts of hazardous materials, you must mark 
your vehicle with a US DOT number. You will receive evidence of your registration via the registration receipt.

Exemption: If you operate a farm-plated vehicle and do not leave Indiana, you do not need a US DOT number.

How do I get a US DOT number?
Intrastate carriers need an Indiana Form BAS-1 Application and should contact the Indiana Department of Revenue.

Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
P.O. Box 6075
Indianapolis, IN 46206
(317) 615-7350
www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Attention US DOT Number Application
1200 New Jersey Ave. SE
Washington, D.C. 20590
(317) 226-7474
www.safer.fmcsa.dot.gov

Fees

Which fees are due?
There is no administrative fee for issuing a US DOT number. However, there is a per-vehicle fee for processing and 
registering your proof of financial responsibility (insurance). This fee is due only if you are not crossing state lines and you 
have not already paid the fees under the Unified Carrier Registration Act (UCRA). Visit the MCS website at www.in.gov/
dor/4106.htm for more information.

http://www.in.gov/dor/4196.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm
http://www.safer.fmcsa.dot.gov
http://www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4106.htm
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Insurance

Who must file proof of financial responsibility?
Along with the application for a US DOT number, the following intrastate carriers are required to provide proof of 
financial responsibility (insurance Form E) with the State of Indiana, if they haven’t already:

•	 Private carriers transporting hazardous materials; and
•	 For-hire carriers.

Vehicle Markings

What are the vehicle marking requirements?
Anyone required to have a US DOT number is also required to mark their vehicles.

Nature of the markings
Generally, the marking must display the following information:

•	 The name or trade name of the motor carrier operating the motor vehicles; and
•	 The motor carrier identification number preceded by the letters “USDOT” (and if it’s an intrastate vehicle, it must 

have an “IN” suffix).

Size, shape, color, and location
The marking must:

•	 Appear on both sides of the motor vehicle;
•	 Be in letters and numbers that contrast sharply in color with the background on which the letters and numbers 

are placed; and
•	 Be readily legible, during daylight hours, from a distance of 50 feet while the vehicle is stationary (approximately 

2” block-style letters and numbers). The marking must always be maintained in this condition.

Construction and durability
You can paint the marking on the motor vehicle, or it can be displayed on a removable device if the device meets the 
previously mentioned requirements.

Unified Carrier Registration System

Who must file under the UCR?
If you operate a truck or bus in interstate or international commerce or you make the arrangements for the transportation 
of cargo and goods, you must register for UCR.

The UCR program requires individuals and companies that operate commercial motor vehicles in interstate or 
international commerce to register their business with Indiana and pay an annual fee based on the size of their fleet.

Companies operating solely as brokers, freight forwarders, or leasing companies are also required to register and pay 
a fee. Please visit the MCS website at www.in.gov/dor/4235.htm for more information.

Companies providing both motor carrier services and broker, freight forwarder, or leasing services are required to pay the 
fee at the motor carrier level.

To avoid delays in processing your UCR, it is recommended that you register online at www.ucr.in.gov and follow the 
step-by-step instructions. Payments can be made online using MasterCard, Visa, Discover, or e-check.

Direct your questions to the Indiana Department of Revenue Motor Carrier Services Division at (317) 615-7350.

http://www.in.gov/dor/4235.htm
http://www.ucr.in.gov
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If mailing your application, make checks payable to the Indiana Department of Revenue and return to:

Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
Insurance and Safety Section
P. O. Box 6075
Indianapolis, IN 46206-6075

If you would like to learn more about UCR, visit www.in.gov/dor/4235.htm. 

Questions

What if I have more questions?
If you have any questions, please contact the Indiana Department of Revenue at (317) 615-7350.

Indiana Motor Carrier Operating Authority

Who needs this authority?
Operating authority is required for any for-hire carrier transporting household goods or passengers within the state of 
Indiana.

What is the operating authority?
Operating authority allows the for-hire transportation of household goods and passengers for compensation. “Intrastate” 
authority refers to movements between points within the State of Indiana and is issued by the Indiana Department of 
Revenue.

There are two types of authority, common and contract. Common carrier authority is issued to a carrier who wants to 
serve the public. Contract carrier authority is issued to a carrier who wants to serve one or a limited number of shippers or 
persons by dedicating motor vehicles to meeting the distinct needs of this limited group of people.

Application Process

How do I obtain Indiana intrastate operating authority?
The process of obtaining Indiana intrastate operating authority starts with filing an application with the Indiana 
Department of Revenue. Common carriers whose services are available to the public must obtain a certificate. Contract 
carriers who serve only certain persons or shippers must obtain a permit.

Forms 700 and 703 and fee schedules are available on the MCS website at www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm. 

Three types of operating authority can be filed.

Form 703 Emergency Temporary Authority (ETA): This lasts 30 days. This must be accompanied by a temporary 
authority application (Form 703), a permanent authority application (Form 700), a filing fee, a publication fee, proof of 
insurance (Form E filing), a BAS-1 form, and a tariff or contract.

Form 703 Temporary Authority (TA): This lasts 180 days. This must be accompanied by a permanent authority 
application (Form 700), a filing fee, a publication fee, proof of insurance, a BAS-1 form, and a tariff or contract.

Form 700 Permanent Authority: This must be accompanied by a financial statement, a BAS-1 form, a filing fee, and a 
publication fee.

Before a hearing, you also must submit an applicant statement and any supporting statements.

http://www.in.gov/dor/4235.htm
http://www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm
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An ETA is granted on the basis of affidavits filed by shippers that show an emergency need for transportation services that 
are not available from existing common carriers.

A TA is granted to meet an immediate and urgent need for transportation services that might not be an emergency. Any 
member of the general public, including existing common or contract carriers, can file papers opposing the issuance of a 
new TA.

These same individuals can also protest the granting of new permanent operating authority. When a protest is filed, 
a formal hearing is held, which is similar to a court proceeding. If no protest is filed, a permanent application can be 
granted based on supporting affidavits, without a formal hearing.

After the hearing and consideration of all evidence submitted in support of or opposition to the application, an order is 
issued by the Indiana Department of Revenue either granting or denying the application for operating authority. If the 
application for permanent authority is granted, the applicant has 60 days to file proof of insurance and a permanent tariff 
or contract.

Will I need to renew my intrastate operating authority every year?
Indiana intrastate operating authority is continuous as long as the carrier:

•	 Files an annual report, Form MCS-3, prior to April 30 each year;
•	 Maintains proper insurance;
•	 Purchases the vehicle registration receipt each year by filing BAS-1 and paying a per vehicle fee; and
•	 Maintains a proper tariff.

Account Changes

Can an operating authority be sold?
Yes. An operating authority can be sold, leased, transferred, or included in a will like any other property. You must 
contact the Insurance and Safety Section of the Indiana Department of Revenue to obtain Forms 707 and 711, or get them 
online at www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm. 

What procedures do I follow if my business name changes?
An Indiana intrastate carrier that changes its name must make certain filings with the Indiana Department of Revenue. 
The type of filing required depends on the reason for the name change. If the only change in the carrier’s business is its 
name, the carrier must file:

•	 BAS-1
•	 A name change petition;
•	 A fee of $25;
•	 A new Form E Indiana (insurance); and
•	 An adoption notice for the existing tariff or a new tariff.

A name change may result from the merger of two or more corporations. These transactions are more than name changes 
because the structure of the business also changes. A carrier that acquires intrastate operating authority by merging with 
another corporation must file an application with the Indiana Department of Revenue to obtain permission to own and 
operate the new authority.

Other carriers who hold intrastate certificates or permits have the opportunity to protest.

What is a $2.50 temporary registration receipt?
When an intrastate passenger and/or household goods carrier has been granted an ETA or a TA authority, the carrier 
must file Form MCS-TA and pay a $2.50 per-vehicle fee. The Indiana Department of Revenue then issues a temporary 
registration receipt.

http://www.in.gov/dor/4195.htm
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Tariffs and Schedules

What is a tariff?
A tariff is a legal publication by a common carrier (either household goods or passenger) that sets forth the scope of the 
operating authority of the carrier; the rates, fares, or charges for transportation and accessorial services; and the rules 
governing the application of such rates, fares, or charges. A tariff is a legal document and only those rates, fares, or charges 
contained in the tariff may be charged for transportation or related services.

What is a schedule?
A schedule or rate schedule is a legal publication by a contract carrier (either household goods or passenger) that can have 
two forms:

•	 A minimum rate schedule in the same form or format as a tariff; or
•	 A schedule of actual rates attached to the contract as an appendix and made a part of the contract.

How do I file and post a tariff or schedule of rates?
Tariff s, schedules, and any supplements or changes to tariffs or schedules must be filed with the Indiana Department of 
Revenue by an officer or a duly authorized agent of the company. Each tariff or rate schedule must be submitted, including 
individual contracts, along with a letter of transmittal.

If a receipt for the accompanying tariff or schedule is desired, a duplicate transmittal letter should be included with a self-
addressed, stamped envelope. A copy showing the date of receipt by the Indiana Department of Revenue will be returned 
to the sender.

Tariffs, schedules, and supplements or amendments must be posted (on file) at each terminal location and the general 
offices of the carrier for inspection by the general public.

After I begin operating, is there a way to change the rates, fares, charges, rules, classifications, or items in my tariff, 
minimum rate schedule, or actual rate schedule?
Yes. If you are a common carrier, all changes in rates or charges or in rules or other provisions that affect rates must be 
filed with the Indiana Department of Revenue at least 30 days before the date on which they become effective.

If you are a contract carrier, each new rate or charge; each reduced rate or charge; and each new or changed rate, 
regulation, or practice that affects a reduction in rates or charges or that increases the value of the service must be 
published in a schedule which should be posted and filed with the Indiana Department of Revenue at least 30 days prior to 
the effective date of such rate, charge, rule, regulation, or practice.

Increased rates; increased charges; changes in rules, regulations, or practices that result in a decrease in the value of the 
service or an increase in a rate or charge; and rates, charges, rules, regulations, and practices republished without change 
shall be published in a schedule and filed with the Indiana Department of Revenue at least one day prior to the effective 
date of such rates, charges, rules, regulations, or practices.

Passenger tariffs or schedules
Changes in fares or charges must be filed and posted at least 10 days prior to the effective date of the tariff or schedule.
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For Additional Information or Assistance

Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite M
Indianapolis, IN 46241
(317) 615-7200
www.in.gov/dor

Indiana State Police
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division
7811 Milhouse Road, Suite S
Indianapolis, IN 46241
(317) 615-7373
1 (800) 523-2226
Fax: (317) 821-2350
www.in.gov/isp/

Federal Office of Motor Carriers
Federal Department of Transportation
575 N. Pennsylvania, Suite 261
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 226-7474
Fax: (317) 226-5006

Intrastate Carrier Services
Indiana USDOT: (317) 615-7350
Superload Permits: (317) 615-7320
Motor Carrier Fuel Tax: (317) 615-7345
Indiana Operating Authority: (317) 615-7350
Oversize/Overweight Vehicle Permitting: (317) 615-7320

Interstate Carrier Services
IRP: (317) 615-7340
IFTA: (317) 615-7345
UCR: (317) 615-7350
Superload Permits: (317) 615-7320
Oversize/Overweight Vehicle Permitting: (317) 615-7320

Fax Numbers
IFTA: (317) 615-7333
IRP: (317) 615-7310 and (317) 615-7280
Insurance Form E: (317) 615-7286
Oversize/Overweight/Superload: (317) 615-7241
Insurance and Safety: (317) 615-7374

http://www.in.gov/dor
http://www.in.gov/isp/
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Glossary

ASHTO - American Association of State Highways and Transportation Officials
BARS - Bridge Analysis and Rating System
BMV - Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
CDL - Commercial Driver’s License
CFR - Code of Federal Regulations
CGVWR - Combined Gross Vehicle Weight Rating
CMV - Commercial Motor Vehicle
CVSA - Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
DOR - Department of Revenue
DOT - Department of Transportation
FHWA - Federal Highway Administration
FMCSR - Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulation
GVWR - Gross Vehicle Weight Rating
IFTA - International Fuel Tax Agreement
INDOT - Indiana Department of Transportation
IRP - International Registration Plan
MC - Motor Property Carrier/Broker Authority
MCFT - Motor Carrier Fuel Tax
MCS - Motor Carrier Services
ORS - Overload Routing System
PTO - Power Take-off Unit
PUC - Proportional Use Claim
UCRS - Unified Carrier Registration System
USDOT - United States Department of Transportation


