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DISCLAIMER: Information bulletins are intended to provide nontechnical assistance to the general public. Every attempt is
made to provide information that is consistent with the appropriate statutes, rules, and court decisions. Any information that is
inconsistent with current law, regulations, or court decisions is not binding on either the department or the taxpayer. Therefore,
information provided in this bulletin should serve only as a foundation for further investigation and study of the current law and
procedures related to its subject matter.

SUMMARY
This bulletin replaces Tax Policy Directive #8, and aside from nonsubstantive, technical
changes, the bulletin updates the reference to federal regulations and other federal publications.

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this bulletin is to provide an interpretation of the Indiana sales and use tax as it
applies to the use of demonstrator automobiles, both new and used. “Automobile” or “vehicle” as
used in this bulletin includes four-wheeled cars, trucks, or vans having a gross weight of not
more than 8,500 pounds and motorcycles that are made primarily for use on public streets, roads,
or highways. “Automobile” or “vehicle” does not include recreational vehicles. This bulletin is
applicable to Indiana dealers as defined in IC 9- 13-2-42(a) and all persons operating a vehicle
with a dealer license plate.
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DISCUSSION
The following instructions are effective as of Jan. 1, 2015:

1.

2.

The use of vehicles made available to school driver education programs or nonprofit
organizations are not subject to the Indiana sales and use tax.

The use of vehicles provided to persons other than full-time salespersons (for example,
family members, part-time salespersons, mechanics, managers of the dealership, and
other individuals) are subject to use tax in an amount calculated as the Internal Revenue
Service’s optional business standard mileage rate contained in Internal Revenue Service
Publication 463, multiplied by the Indiana sales tax rate. The vehicle dealer is required to
pay the tax annually. Dealers are required to keep records of each vehicle, the miles
driven, and the amount and date when use tax was paid for the miles driven.

In lieu of accounting for the miles driven, the dealer may elect to report the use tax on 2%
of the dealer’s cost of purchasing the vehicle for each month (or fraction of a month) that
the vehicle is used as a demonstrator, multiplied by the Indiana sales tax rate.

The definition of “full-time salesperson” is synonymous with the definition provided in
U.S. Treasury Reg. 1.132-5(0)(2), which provides that the salesperson spends at least
one-half of a normal business day performing the function of a floor salesperson; works
at least 1,000 hours per year; and derives 25% of his gross income from sales activities.
Vehicles used by full-time salespersons for “qualified automobile demonstration use” are
not subject to sales and use tax. “Qualified automobile demonstration use” means a
vehicle:

a. Currently in the inventory of the dealership;

b. Available for test drives by customers during the normal business hours of the
employer;

c. In which the salesperson has no personal possessions stored;

d. Only driven within the dealer’s sales area. For the purposes of this directive,
“dealer’s sales area” means an area within a radius of 75 miles from the
dealership;

e. Not used by individuals other than the full-time salesperson (for example, family
members); and

f.  That may not be used for personal trips.

Personal use of automobile demonstrators by full-time salespersons will be measured by
the value reportable to the Internal Revenue Service or charged to the full-time
salesperson in accordance with the provisions of Revenue Procedures 2001-56,
multiplied by the sales tax rate.

CONCLUSION
The department recognizes and acknowledges that events unanticipated by this bulletin might
arise, and in such case, the department should be contacted for guidance.
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