

Board of Commissioners
Meeting Minutes
Thursday, July 25, 2024
12:00 – 1:30 PM
Indiana Government Center South
Conference Room 3
302. W. Washington St, Indianapolis

- I. Call to order The meeting was called to order by Chair Courtney Arango at 12:14 PM EST.
- II. Establishment of Quorum and Roll call: Commissioner Christine Altman [virtual/present], Commissioner Caryl Auslander [not present], Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker [in-person/present], Commissioner Kori Chambers [not present], Commissioner Molly Chavers [in-person/present] Commissioner Sharon Jackson [in-person/present], Commissioner Monica Kozlowski [virtual/present], Commissioner Ambre Marr [in-person/present], Commissioner Rep. Peggy Mayfield [not present], Commissioner Stephanie Moore [not present], Commissioner Kayevonne Parham [virtual/present], Commissioner Rep. Tonya Pfaff [in-person/present], Commissioner Sen. Shelli Yoder [in-person/present], Chair Courtney Arango [in-person/present]. A quorum was established at 12:15 PM EST.

Staff: Jordan Teske-Harrison, Director of the Indiana Commission for Women and Gabriel Kramer, Cultural Commissions Coordinator.

- III. Review Meeting Minutes: Commissioner Sharon Jackson motioned to approve the April 10, 2024, meeting minutes as amended with a minor revision. Motion seconded by Commissioner Molly Chavers. The motion carried unanimously.
 - a) April 10, 2024
- IV. Review and Approval of Financial Report: Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker motioned to approve the review and approval of the financial reports. Motion seconded by Commissioner Ambre Marr. The motion carried unanimously.
 - a) March FY 2024
 - b) April FY 2024
 - c) May FY 2024
 - d) Preliminary 2025

ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM AND ROLL CALL: Commissioner Stephanie Moore [virtual/present] at 12:30pm.

V. Director's Report: Commissioner Christine Altman motioned to approve the ICW Projected Spend Plan, three \$500 sponsorships to the Northwest Indiana Influential Women Association, Hoosier Women at Work, and the YWCA Evansville's Women's Equality Day Luncheon, \$250 Honorarium for Senator Jean Breaux [i.e sponsored by Commissioner Senator Becker], and a Torchbearer replacement award [i.e sponsored by Commissioner Molly Chavers]. Motion seconded by Commissioner Sharon Jackson. The motion carried unanimously.

a) Sponsor Requests: Hoosier Women at Work & Northwest Indiana Influential Women Association

- The Commission reviewed the submitted sponsor requests and provide feedback on tracking
 geographical distribution of sponsor contributions to ensure equitable support across Indiana. The
 proposed solution involves creating granting periods throughout the year to promote sponsorship
 opportunities. The Commission agreed to sponsor the request, including the addition of \$500 for
 the YWCA Evansville's Women's Equity Day Luncheon.
- Northwest Indiana Influential Women Association [\$500]
- Hoosier Women at Work [\$500]
- YWCA Evansville Women's Equity Day Luncheon [\$500]

b) Order New Award: Katherine Lyon Davis (2004 Torchbearer Recipient)

- Commissioner Molly Chavers agreed to sponsor the order of the replacement award.
- Commissioner Stephanie Moore presented sponsoring an honorarium for Sen. Jean Breaux. Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker agreed to sponsor the honorarium for Sen. Jean Breaux.

c) ICW Projected Spend Plan & Budget for FY 2025

• The Projected Spend Plan for FY 25 was reviewed to outline anticipated programs and specify the funding account or sources. This plan will help ensure procurement submissions are efficiently and accurately organized before the fiscal year ends.

d) Torchbearer Award Event Planning Progress

- Recap was provided on the timeline of events and social campaigns leading up to the ceremony.
- AARP agreed to sponsor the floral arrangements for the ceremony.
- VI. Chair's Report: Success of previous 2024 International Women's Day Event warranted interest in continuation of the event for 2025. Commissioner Molly Chavers motioned to approve International Women's Day Event for a tentative date of Thursday, March 6, 2025, from 8:00am-2:00pm. Motion seconded by Commissioner Sharon Jackson. The motion carried unanimously.
 - a) International Women's Day Event 2025
- VII. Committee Reports: Commissioner Sharon Jackson motioned to approve the slate of the Torchbearer Recipients. Motion seconded by Commissioner Rep. Tonya Pfaff. The motion carried unanimously.

 Commissioner Sen. Yoder motion to approve the Committee Reports. Motion seconded by Commissioner Molly Chavers. The motion carried unanimously.

a) Working Group: Torchbearer Award Nominations

- Recommendation of Torchbearer Winners
- The working group presented the slate of the Torchbearer Recipients to the Commissioners.

b) Torchbearer Award Subcommittee

• Discussion was held on editing the run of show and review criteria on the Lifetime Achievement Award.

- Recommendations to the Lifetime Achievement Award: Can past Torchbearer recipients be nominated for the award?
- Keynote Speaker
- c) Follow-up discussion on ICW Priorities
 - Follow-up discussion on ICW priorities were deferred for the next subsequent meeting.
 - Infant and Maternal Health
 - Financial Independence
 - Women in Public Service
- **VIII.** Commissioners' Comments: No comments from the Commissioners.
 - **IX. Public Comment:** Torchbearer Recipient Diana Brenner commented on how she enjoyed the ceremony and mentioned that some recipients might like to speak at the event.
 - X. Adjournment: The meeting was called to adjourn by Chair Courtney Arango at 1:35pm.

Planned 2024 Meetings:

Tentative rescheduling to September 27th or 25th November 6, 2024