24-Hour Sulfur Dioxide (SO <sub>2</sub> ) Standard			
<b>County Name</b>	Area	<b>Date Designated Nonattainment</b>	Status of Area
Lake	Northern Part of Lake County	3/3/1978	Redesignated to Attainment on October 26, 2005
		10/5/1978	
LaPorte	Northern Part of LaPorte	3/3/1978	Redesignated to Attainment on January 14, 1997
	County	10/5/1978	
Marion	Entire County	3/3/1978	Lawrence, Washington, and Warren Townships
			Redesignated to Unclassifiable, the Remaining
			Portion of Marion County Remained Designated
			Nonattainment on September 18, 1990
		10/5/1978	Entire County Redesignated to Attainment on
			January 14, 1997
Vigo	Entire County	3/3/1978	Redesignated to Attainment on January 14, 1997
		10/5/1978	
Wayne	Boston, Center, Franklin,	3/3/1978	Redesignated to Attainment on January 14, 1997
	Wayne and Webster Townships	10/5/1978	

On April 28, 1971, United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) established the primary 24-hour SO<sub>2</sub> standard at a level of 0.14 parts per million (ppm) (36 FR 8186). The primary 24-hour standard was not to be exceeded more than once per year.

On May 22, 1996, after reviewing available science, U.S. EPA concluded that the primary 24-hour SO<sub>2</sub> standard provided the requisite level of public health protection, and, therefore retained the original standard (61 FR 25566).

On June 2, 2010, U.S. EPA revoked the primary 24-hour  $SO_2$  standard and established a new primary 1-hour  $SO_2$  standard (75 FR 35520). All areas of Indiana met the primary 24-hour standard at the time it was revoked.