24-Hour Total Suspended Particles (TSP)						
County Name	Area	Date Designated Nonattainment	Status of Area			
Clark	Charlestown, Jeffersonville, Silver Creek, and Utica Townships	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Primary)	Charlestown, Silver Creek, and Utica Townships redesignated to attainment on November 2, 1982			
		4/22/1985 (Jefferson Township designation changed to secondary nonattainment)	TSP designations removed from the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) on June 16, 1997			
Dearborn	Center, Hogan, Lawrenceburg, and Manchester Townships	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Primary)	Center, Hogan, and Manchester Townships redesignated to attainment on November 2, 1982			
		1/27/1986 (Lawrenceburg Township designation changed to secondary attainment)	TSP designations removed from CFR on June 16, 1997			
Dubois	Bainbridge, Marion, and Patoka Townships	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Primary)	Marion and Patoka Townships redesignated to attainment on November 2, 1982			
		4/22/1985 (Bainbridge Township designation changed to secondary attainment)	TSP designations removed from CFR on June 16, 1997			
Floyd	Entire County	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Unclassifiable)	Redesignated to attainment on May 22, 1985, except for New Albany Township which remained unclassifiable			
Howard	Center and Howard Townships	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Secondary)	Redesignated to attainment on November 2, 1982			
Lake	Area bounded by U.S. 30 between Illinois state line and I-65, I-65 north to I-94 intersection, east to I- 94 to Lake/Porter county line, north to Lake Michigan and west along the lake to Illinois state line	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Primary)	TSP designations removed from CFR on June 16, 1997			

Page 1 of 3

24-Hour Total Suspended Particles (TSP)						
County Name	Area	Date Designated Nonattainment	Status of Area			
LaPorte	Center, Kankakee, New Durham, Pleasant, and Scipio Townships, and north and west of I-94	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Secondary)	Redesignated to attainment on September 25, 1981			
Marion	Entire county except Washington Township east of White River, Franklin Township south of Thompson Road and east of Five Points Road	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Primary)	TSP designations removed from CFR on June 16, 1997			
Porter	Entire County	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Unclassifiable)	Primary nonattainment designation of northern part of county rescinded making area unclassifiable on December 13, 1983			
	Area bounded on north by Lake Michigan, east by Mineral Springs Road, south by I-94, and west by Indiana 249 from I-94 to Burns Ditch and following Burns Ditch to Lake Michigan	8/18/1982 (Northern part of county designated primary nonattainment)	Southern portion of county redesignated to attainment on May 22, 1985			
St. Joseph	Industrialized area east of Pine Road and north of Kern Road	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Secondary)	TSP designations removed from CFR on June 16, 1997			
Sullivan	Entire County	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Unclassifiable)	Redesignated to attainment on May 11, 1985			
Tippecanoe	Entire County	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Unclassifiable)				
Vanderburgh	Pigeon Township/City of Evansville	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Secondary)	TSP designations removed from CFR on June 16, 1997			

24-Hour Total Suspended Particles (TSP)							
County Name	Area	Date Designated Nonattainment	Status of Area				
Vigo	Fayette, Harrison, Honey Creek, Lost Creek, Otter Creek, and Sugar Creek Townships	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Primary)	Redesignated to attainment on July 16, 1982, except for the 0.5 km radius around continuous aerometric acquisition program (CAAP) Monitoring Station in Harrison Township which remained primary nonattainment Harrison Township (0.5 km radius around CAAP Monitoring Station) redesignated to secondary nonattainment on May 22, 1985 TSP designations removed from CFR on June 16, 1997				
Wayne	Boston, Center, Wayne, and Webster Townships	3/3/1978 10/5/1978 (Primary)	Redesignated to unclassifiable on December 2, 1981 Boston, Center, and Wayne Townships redesignated to attainment on March 17, 1986				

On April 28, 1971, United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) established primary and secondary 24-hour TSP standards at a level of 260 and 150 micrograms per cubic meter (μ g/m³) ($\frac{36 \text{ FR } 8186}{24}$). All other areas of Indiana not listed above were designated "attainment/unclassifiable" under the 24-hour TSP standards.

Attainment of the 24-hour TSP standards was determined by evaluating the second maximum 24-hour values which was not to be exceeded more than once per year. On June 2, 1987, U.S. EPA replaced the primary and secondary 24-hour TSP standards with primary and secondary 24-hour coarse particulate matter (PM₁₀) standards (52 FR 24634).

On July 1, 1987, the 24-hour TSP standard was replaced by the 24-hour PM10 standard.