Annual Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2) Standard

On April 28, 1971, United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) established primary and secondary annual NO₂ standards at a level of 53 parts per billion (ppb) (36 FR 8186).

On June 19, 1985 (50 FR 25532), October 8, 1996 (61 FR 52852), and again on February 9, 2010 (75 FR 6474), after reviewing available science, U.S. EPA concluded that the primary and secondary annual NO₂ standards provided the requisite level of public health and welfare protection, and, therefore retained the original standards. On April 3, 2012 (77 FR 20218), U.S. EPA again retained the secondary standard and on April 18, 2018 (75 FR 17226), retained the primary NO₂ standard based on these same conclusions.

Attainment of the standard is determined by evaluating the annual arithmetic mean concentration in a calendar year, which must be less than or equal to 53 ppb.

Indiana has never had any nonattainment areas for the primary or secondary annual NO₂ standards.