## Annual Sulfur Dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>) Standards

On April 28, 1971, United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) established primary and secondary annual SO<sub>2</sub> standards (36 FR 8186). The primary SO<sub>2</sub> standards were set as an annual average of 0.03 parts per million (ppm). The secondary SO<sub>2</sub> standards were set at an annual level of 0.02 ppm. The annual average primary and secondary standards were not to be exceeded.

On September 14, 1973, after reviewing available science, U.S. EPA revoked the annual secondary SO<sub>2</sub> standard due to a lack of evidence of adverse effects on public welfare at ambient concentrations (38 FR 25678).

On May 22, 1996, after reviewing available health science, U.S. EPA concluded that the existing primary annual SO<sub>2</sub> standard provided the requisite level of public health protection and, therefore, retained the standard (61 FR 25566).

On June 2, 2010, U.S. EPA revoked the primary annual SO<sub>2</sub> standard and established a new primary 1-hour SO<sub>2</sub> standard ( $\frac{75 \text{ FR}}{35520}$ ).

Indiana has never had any nonattainment areas for the annual primary or secondary  $SO_2$  standards. All areas of Indiana met the standards at the time they were revoked by U.S. EPA.