Annual Total Suspended Particulate (TSP) Standard

On April 28, 1971, United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) established the primary annual TSP standard at a level of 75 micrograms per cubic meter ($\mu g/m^3$) (<u>36 FR 8186</u>). Attainment of the standard was determined by evaluating the annual geometric mean, which was not to be exceeded more than once per year.

On June 2, 1987, after reviewing available science, U.S. EPA replaced the annual primary TSP standard with annual primary and secondary coarse particulate matter (PM_{10}) standards in order to provide the requisite level of public health and welfare protection (52 FR 24634).

Indiana has never had any nonattainment areas for the annual primary TSP standard. All areas of Indiana met the standard at the time it was replaced by the annual primary and secondary PM_{10} standards.