According to the 2020 US Census - Tables P2 and H2 – at least 50% of households and/or at least 50% of the population in the following counties are considered to be in rural areas.

Adams County
Benton County
Brown County
Carroll County
Clay County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Daviess County
Dearborn County
Decatur County
DeKalb County
Fountain County
Franklin County
Fulton County
Gibson County
Greene County
Harrison County
Henry County
Huntington County
Jasper County
Jay County
Jennings County
LaGrange County
Lawrence County
Marshall County
Martin County
Montgomery County
Morgan County
Newton County
Noble County
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

Ohio County
Orange County
Owen County
Parke County
Perry County
Pike County
Posey County
Pulaski County
Putnam County
Randolph County
Ripley County
Rush County
Scott County
Shelby County
Spencer County
Starke County
Steuben County
Sullivan County
Switzerland County
Tipton County
Union County
Vermillion County
Wabash County
Warren County
Washington County
Wells County
White County
Whitley County