Acknowledgments

2011 NIRPC APPOINTMENTS

APPOINTING AUTHORITY

MEMBER

LAKE COUNTY

Lake County Commissioners

Lake County Council Lake County Surveyor

Mayor of Gary

Mayor of Hammond

Merrillville Town Council
Munster Town Council

Mayor of Hobart

Mayor of East Chicago Griffith Town Council Highland Town Council

Schererville Town Council Mayor of Crown Point

Mayor of Lake Station Mayor of Whiting

Dyer Town Council

Cedar Lake Town Council

Lowell Town Council

Winfield Town Council

New Chicago Town Council St. John Town Council

Schneider Town Council

Roosevelt Allen, Jr., Executive Board

Christine Cid

George Van Til

Mary Brown

Thomas M. McDermott, Jr., Chairman

Shawn M. Pettit

David F. Shafer

Brian Snedecor, Executive Board

Anthony Copeland

Stanley Dobosz

Michael Griffin

Tom Schmitt

David Uran, Treasurer

Keith Soderquist

Joseph M. Stahura

Jeff Dekker

Robert Carnahan

Judith Walters Michael De Normandie

Ken Collmar

Michael Forbes

Richard Ludlow

PORTER COUNTY

Porter County Commissioners
Porter County Council
Porter County Surveyor

Nancy Adams
Jim Polarek
Kevin Breitzke

Mayor of Portage Olga Velazquez. Executive Board

Mayor of Valparaiso H. Jonathan Costas

Chesterton Town Council James G. Ton, Executive Board

Hebron Town Council Don Ensign
Porter Town Council Michele Bollinger
Kouts Town Council James Murphy
Ogden Dunes Town Council Eric Kurtz

Burns Harbor Town Council R. Michael Perrine

Beverly Shores Town Council Geof Benson, Vice-Chairman

Dune Acres Town Council John Sullivan
Pines Town Council Cathi Murray
Porter Township Trustee Edward Morales
Union Township Trustee Anthony Pampalone

LAPORTE COUNTY

LaPorte County Commissioners Ken Layton, Secretary
LaPorte County Council Rich Mrozinski
LaPorte County Surveyor Anthony Hendricks
Mayor of Michigan City Charles Oberlie

Mayor of LaPorte Kathleen Chroback, Executive Board

Trail Creek Town Council Ron Lombard
Long Beach Town Council Bob Schaefer
Kingsford Heights Town Council Rosalie Jacobs
Kingsbury Town Council vacant

Michiana Shores Town Council Steve Millick

Wanatah Town Council Stephen Mockler, Executive Board

LaCrosse Town Council vacant

Pottawattomie Park Town Council Susan Tochell

Westville Town Council va

vacant

Governor of Indiana

Chester Dobis, Executive Board



Little League victory parade. Photo courtesy of the Times of Northwest Indiana.

ACKNOWLED GMENTS vii

2040 CRP STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS PAST & PRESENT

Roosevelt Allen, Jr. Lake County Board of Commissioners Vanessa Allen Urban League of Northwest Indiana

Michael Aylesworth Indiana Department of Environmental Management
Don Babcock Northern Indiana Public Service Company (NIPSCO)

Diane Thalmann NIPSCO

Geof Benson Town of Beverly Shores

Mitchell Bishop LaPorte County Joan Bliss Retired Citizen

David Blumenthal The Center of Workforce Innovations, Inc. Linda Woloshansky The Center of Workforce Innovations, Inc.

Peter Borcz Interested Region Citizen

Lee Botts Environment

Kevin Breitzke Porter County Surveyor

Bryan Bullock Revitalization First/Attorney at Law

A.J. Bytnar City of Hobart

Cassandra Cannon United Urban Network Inc.

Bob Carnahan Town of Cedar Lake
Ken Dallmeyer Regional Bus Authority
Tim Brown Regional Bus Authority

Jan Dick Valparaiso Pathways Committee

Stan Dobosz Town of Griffith
Beth Jacobson City of Hammond
Africa Tarver City of Hammond
Brian Poland City of Hammond

Dale Engquist Shirley Heinze Land Trust

Michael Genger Town of Porter

Phil Gralik RW Armstrong Engineering

Michael Griffin Town of Highland

Steve Hauersperger Indiana Department of Transportation K-Todd Behling Indiana Department of Transportation Jerry Halperin Indiana Department of Transportation Don Abraham Indiana Department of Transportation

Richard Herr Hoosier Environmental Council
Bryant Mitol Hoosier Environmental Council
Marie Hoggs Senior Citizens Representative

ix

Pat Jackson Northwest Indiana Federation

Martin Jaffe University of IL at Chicago, Urban Planning/Policy

George T. Janiec Disability Community Board Member

Jim Jessup Leadership LaPorte County

Danita Johnson-Hughes Edgewater Systems for Balanced Living
Earl Jones IUN Environmental Justice Partnership
Keith Kirkpatrick KPM Group, Leadership Northwest Indiana

Eric Kurtz Town of Odgen Dunes

Carl Lisek South Shore Clean Cities, Inc

Lou Martinez Lake Area United Way Myrna Maldonado City of East Chicago

Sergio Mendoza Lake Michigan Coastal Program

Christopher Meyers City of Gary

Leigh Morris Indiana Economic Development Corporation

Richard Morrisroe East Chicago Resident Kay Nelson Northwest Indiana Forum

Bob Nickovich Lake County Parks Joe Ebert Lake County Parks

Sandy O'Brien Sierra Club Dunelands Group George Malis Sierra Club Dunelands Group

Charles Oberlie City of Michigan City, Steering Committee Chairman

Craig Phillips City of Valparaiso
Tyler Kent City of Valparaiso

Sylvia Planer Hispanic Coordinating Council
Olga Cantu Hispanic Coordinating Council
Lorraine Guillen-Wentz Hispanic Coordinating Council

Mark Reshkin Retired Professor, Indiana University Northwest (IUN)

Jill Ritchie United States Steel Corporation/Gary Works

Carolyn Saxton Lubeznik Center for the Arts Mary Stewart-Pelligrini The Stewart Management Group

Daniel Suson Purdue University; School of Eng/Math/Sci

Leslie Dorworth Purdue University

Ellen Szarleta Indiana University; School of Public & Environmental Affairs (SPEA)

Dennis Wichelns IUN SPEA

Debbie Thomas IUN: Center for Regional Excellence Victoria Brockett IUN: Center for Regional Excellence

Mary Jane Thomas City of LaPorte



Railcats fans. Photo courtesy of the Times of Northwest Indiana.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

Kathy Chroback City of LaPorte, Steering Committee Vice-Chair

Porter County Plan Commission **Bob Thompson** Garry Traynham Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore Eric Ehn Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore

City of Crown Point David Uran George Van Til Lake County Surveyor Olga Velazquez City of Portage

Joseph Wszolek Greater Northwest Indiana Association of Realtors (GNIAR) & Joseph Wszolek & Associates

Pat Pullara **GNIAR**

CONSULTANTS

Diane Gormely-Barnes

Spencer Gardner

Christopher Kopp

EDITING AND FORMATTING

AmericaSpeaks Kerry Erickson Daniel Clark Beth Shrader Ron Thomas

Transportation Policy Committee Members

Environmental Management Policy Committee Members Phil Hanegraaf Sara Hage

Land Use Committee Members

Congestion Management Sub-Committee

Ped, Pedal & Paddle Committee

NIRPC COMMITTEES

HNTB

X

NIRPC CONTRIBUTING STAFF

Mitch Barloga

Gabrielle Biciunas

Bill Brown

Gary Evers

Joe Exl

Kevin Garcia

Matt Hay

Ryan Hicks

Eman Ibrahim

Kathy Luther

Hubert Morgan

Chase Morris, Intern

Jody Melton

Belinda Petroskey

Lauren Rhein

Beth Shrader, Intern

John Smith

Stephen Sostaric

Steve Strains

John Swanson

Mary Thorne

Thomas Vander Woude

Thank you to the facilitators and participants who volunteered their time and talents towards the development of the 2040 CRP.

Forum on the Future of Northwest Indiana, December 2008 Goal Setting Work Groups, May - June 2009 Subregional Cluster Workshops, September - October 2009 Regional Scenarios Stakeholder Workshops, September 2010 Open Houses, May - June 2011



Northwest Indiana neighbors. Photo courtesy of the Times of Northwest Indiana.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS xi