
Where do I go to obtain or renew my Indiana Permit 

to carry Application? 

You will first apply online with the Indiana State Police at www.in.gov/isp.  All 

applications are done online at this website.   

What consists of completing my application? 

 All applicants must be fingerprinted electronically.   

1. Complete the online application at https://firearms.ariesportal.com/.  At 

the end of the application, you will receive directions on how to schedule 

electronic fingerprints at Indentogo. 

2. Schedule your electronic fingerprints at https://www.identogo.com/ or 

call (877)472-6917. 

3. Bring your application number, receipt of fingerprinting and your driver’s 

license to the New Whiteland Police Department for approval.   

4. Your application will be electronically sent to ISP for final approval.   

No Fees for the Lifetime or 5 year permit.   

Office Hours for New Whiteland Police:  Monday – Friday 7am to noon,  

1pm-4pm 

Effective July 1, 2021 

License Type Local Fee State Fee 

Five Year Hunting and Target $0 $0 

Five Year Personal Protection $0 $0 

Lifetime Hunting and Target $0 $0 

Lifetime Personal Protection $0 $0 

Duplicate Not Provided in Law $20.00 

Retired Law Enforcement Officer Not Provided in Law Fee Exempt † 

Retired Corrections Officer Not Provided in Law Fee Exempt † 

Dealer Licenses to Sell Not Provided in Law $60.00 

 

 

http://www.in.gov/isp
https://firearms.ariesportal.com/
https://www.identogo.com/


You CANNOT obtain an Indiana Handgun Permit if you: 

• Have a conviction for resisting law enforcement within five years before the person 
applies for a license or permit 

• Have a conviction for a crime for which he could have been sentenced for more than 
one (1) year 

• Have a record of being an alcohol abuser, meaning one who has had two or more 
alcohol related offenses, any one (1) of which resulted in conviction by a court or 
treatment in an alcohol abuse facility within three (3) years prior to the date of 
application o Have a record of being a drug abuser, meaning one who has had two (2) 
or more violations of: Dealing in Cocaine, Dealing in Narcotics, or Dealing in a Schedule 
I, II, III, IV, or V Controlled substances – Any one of which resulted in conviction by a 
court or treatment in a drug abuse facility within five (5) years prior to the date of 
application. 

• Have documented evidence which would give rise to a reasonable belief that he has a 
propensity for violent or emotionally unstable conduct 

• Make a false statement of material fact on his application 
• Have a conviction of any crime involving an inability to safely handle a handgun 
• Have a conviction for violations of the provisions of IC 35-47 within the last five (5) 

years of his application 
• Have adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed 

by an adult, if the person applying for a license or permit under this chapter is less than 
twenty-three (23) years of age. 

•  

Indiana Code 35-47-2-1 also states: 

• A person who has been convicted of Domestic Battery may not possess or carry a 
handgun in any vehicle or on or about the person’s body in the person’s dwelling or on 
the person’s property or fixed place of business 

 

 

https://projectchildsafe.org/
https://projectchildsafe.org/

